Preaload Image

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a framework for children up to the age of five, setting out seven key areas of learning around which activities should be based. The 7 EYFS Areas of learning are Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World, Communication and Language, Expressive Arts and Design Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED) and  Physical Development. EYFS is followed by the British National Curriculum Key Stages 1 and 2 for the 6 years of schooling when pupils are between 6 and 11.

Blended Curriculum

Montessori is a method of education that is based on self-directed activity, hands-on learning and collaborative play. In Montessori classrooms, children make creative choices in their learning, while the classroom and the teacher offer age-appropriate activities to guide the process. It is an approach that values the human spirit and the development of the whole child- physical, social, emotional and cognitive.

Integrating Montessori with the EYFS curriculum combines the strengths of the two educational approaches to create a comprehensive and well-rounded education for our children.

The blend of these Methods provides a unique approach to learning that emphasizes hands-on, experiential learning, self-directed discovery, and individualized instruction. While embracing more traditional subjects such as Literacy, Mathematics, Communication & Language, Expressive Art, PSED and Physical Development, the blended curriculum enhances our Children’s learning experience and supports their academic and personal growth.

The Primary British Curriculum: A Foundation for Success

Our primary school curriculum is anchored in the rich traditions of the British education system, renowned for its comprehensive and holistic approach. Designed to cater to the developmental needs of students aged 5 to 11, the curriculum is structured to foster a deep understanding of core subjects, including English, Mathematics, Science, and Humanities.

Key features of the Primary British Curriculum:

  1. Integrated Learning: The curriculum emphasizes cross-disciplinary learning, encouraging the children to see connections between subjects and apply their knowledge in real-world scenarios.
  2. Critical Thinking: We place a strong emphasis on developing critical thinking skills, ensuring that the children are not just memorising facts but understanding the underlying concepts and principles.
  3. Inclusive Approach: Our curriculum is inclusive, recognising and catering to the diverse learning styles and abilities of each child. Differentiated instruction ensures that every child is challenged and supported appropriately.
  4. Creativity and Innovation: We believe that creativity is the cornerstone of progress. Our curriculum integrates opportunities for artistic expression, problem-solving, and innovative thinking across all subjects.
Compulsory national curriculum subjects at our primary school are:

English, Math, Science, Art and Design, History, Geography, Music, Physical education (PE), Computing, Ancient and modern foreign, languages 

Open chat
Scan the code
Tots Academy Abuja
Welcome to Tots Academy. Please let us know how we can help you today.